A person’s health is their own responsibility rather than the government’s responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Health is precious to everyone. The debate about well-being is an individual's or authorities responsibility has been going since decades. Some people argue that each person is responsible for their fitness. I completely agree with this view and this essay will elucidate the reasons to support my agreement. To begin with, leading a healthy lifestyle is our choice. A number of facilities such as gym and sports centre are commonly available at all places nowadays. But, whether to utilize this equipment depends on us. In 2019, for instance, a survey revealed that 7 out of 10 people discontinued using gyms after purchasing an annual subscription. Secondly, eating habits is an important contributor towards maintaining a healthy lifestyle. It is very crucial to have a healthy diet avoiding junk foods to lead a disease-free life. The choice of food we take completely depend on us and this cannot be controlled by governments. To illustrate this, the increasing number of fast-food outlets shows the popularity of these junk foods among societies. In addition, even though, health supply is available free of cost, communities do not utilize these services. The health care system in each country is becoming advanced, as healthy citizens are the country's biggest assets. In most countries, health services are offered free for its residents, but the number of people benefiting from these facilities is very low. For example, about 70% of people in the USA suffer from obesity, even though NHS is offering free services to the people. In a nutshell, I completely agree with the group of people who believe that we are responsible for our own health rather than the governing authorities. The human body is a temple that each one should take care of themselves. The decision of choosing the best lifestyle depends on us.