Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Others believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that friendship is indispensable in our work and life, therefore, different types of friends have been triggered a heated discussion. Some people argue that choosing someone with the same views as them as a friend is a wise decision. However, others claim we should make friends with those who hold contradicting opinions with us. From my perspective, I totally support the latter one for the following reasons. By sharing the same views over different things, some people find it is easier to maintain their friendship because their friends are always supportive in different aspects of their decisions. For instance, friends that share similar taste in movie, music and food are more willing to enjoy these social events when it comes to watching a movie, go to a concert and cook meals together without hesitation, which boosts the relationship of each other. Besides, choosing a friend who always has the same perspective to work or study with is beneficial for the process and outcome of the task. For instance, when students are required to finish a group project within a short time period, they are more likely to work more efficiently if they choose someone who shares the same ideas of their project, which avoids arguments and conflict and hence save more time for studying. However, never can we ignore the importance of friends that hold a different view of us. What must be prioritized is that by having various ideas over the same topic or events, people can enlarge their knowledge base and enhance their interpersonal skills, such as communication skills. Specifically, it is friends that valued things differently provide unexpected perspective and reasons when discussing one thing, which enables us to obtain a wide range of information and produce new ideas. That is the reason that why group discussion and meeting are held numerous times in schools and companies. Moreover, by expressing contradicting views and persuading others to agree with our opinions, our communication skills are greatly improved during this process. In conclusion, some people choose friends according to their shared values and ideas because this kind of friendship is easy to maintain and beneficial to work efficiency. However, I support the opposite view is that it is necessary to make friends with those who disagree with us, due to their contribution to obtain knowledge and enhance social skills.