Write about the following topic. Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In this modern era, being smart is a basic expectation from any employer and there are many situations where people have to act smart rather than providing academic solutions. I believe that social skills are more important than academic qualifications. In this essay, I will provide relevant examples and a lucid conclusion to my opinion. First of all, when employers interview job applicants, they expect good academic knowledge from them. Academic knowledge is important to reach an interview. Furthermore, every job posting has its qualification requirement and that's where having academic knowledge acts as a spotlight. For example, if an employer is hiring for a software developer role then they would consider someone having academic knowledge in the IT field rather than anyone outside this field. However, an applicant's social skills play an important role than having academic knowledge because every employer provides training to their employees. This way, their overall knowledge gets refreshed but the skills they hold are unique. For example, having only academic knowledge will help an employee to perform their work but having social skills like listening, communication and teamwork will help them to grow in their field more quickly. These skills are recognized by an employer because they know the knowledge can be replaced but the social skills can't be replaced. In conclusion, I believe that academic knowledge keeps on changing and every employer trains their employees to perform their task. On the other side, social skills can't be replaced and are unique and rare to find. Having these skills makes a person unique from others in their role.