Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The rapid pace of human evolution is giving birth to a lot of issues. Some say the biggest damage done is the continuous loss of biodiversity and wildlife. While others address environmental issues problems such as air pollution, global warming etc as some of the major challenges the world is facing at present. I totally agree with the view that preserving the wild creatures and natural beauty should be the priority for mankind. We can not deny the fact that the flora and fauna of the world is on the verge of extinction. Nowadays we do not see a lot of animals and plants in the zoos and biological parks. The “Indian Tiger” is one among the endangered species of wild cats, for instance. Even the number of sparrows and pigeons has decreased a lot whereas these birds were commonly observed in the surroundings few years back. Also, there are a lot of animals on the list of endangered animals like the giant panda, gorilla, Asian elephant, and snow leopard, Rhinoceros due to loss of habitat, poaching and hunting. So, this can be taken as the major issue, the earth is encountering presently. On the other hand, the world is dealing with several other problems like climate change, air and water contamination, greenhouse effect, global warming etc. These are some serious issues which results in loss of life, illness and other fatal diseases. For example, melting of the ice on the glaciers leads to floods and tsunami. But all these issues are also somehow related to the loss of biodiversity as plants reduce greenhouse effects, global warming and air pollution to a certain extent. Hence, we can not ignore the consequences of these problems in our everyday life. To conclude, decreasing number of plants and animals is quite alarming but we also need to take environmental issues seriously and should contribute in preserving wildlife.