Higher education could be funded in three ways. All costs paid by government, all costs paid by students or students paying all costs through a government loan. What are the advantages of these choices?

Higher education is important for both individuals and society as it enables individuals to pursue a more satisfying job and better life and provides society with a more innovative and productive workforce, although it can cost a large amount of money. Therefore who should pay for it is a question worth considering. The three given options, government paying all costs, self-supporting, and students paying the cost through government loans will be discussed in this essay in terms of their advantages. Governments paying all the fees can ensure all qualified high school graduates the opportunity to receive higher education and to pursue a better life through it, irrespective of their economic conditions. For instance, people from low-income families can attend universality without paying then find jobs with high salaries after education and improve their living standards. An obvious advantage of students paying the cost by themselves is that governments ’ financial burden will be eased. As they can save money on education, the budget can allow more money to be spent on other urgent public affairs, such as poverty, health security, or unemployment. Paying through low-interest loans from governments certainly lessens students ’ stress, compared to the second option. Undergraduates do not have to do part-time to support themselves while studying but can pay off the loans later after being full-time employed. This option will not cause too much financial difficulty for governments either, as they can expect the repayment of the loans and even a small amount of interest. In summary, students paying by themselves could motivate them to study hard but may harm education equality. Governments paying tuition fees is best for students ’ welfare but burdens itself. In comparison, offering loans is a compromised and most feasible way to supports students to embrace higher education.