It is important for travellers and business people to understand the cultures they come into contact with, however briefly, what are the main advantages of doing so? what do you think is the main disadvantage of not doing so?

Awareness of traditions and values, which come into touch with travellers and businessmen is highly valuable. It is beneficial in providing a richer experience for local people,and it creates a more secure environment during the visit. However, not familiarization with local traditions could lead to unnecessary conflicts with individuals at those travel destinations.In this essay, I intend to present the above advantages and drawbacks of going against the notion, in detail. To begin with, visitors and business people can experience better care from natives and with less insecurity during the travel if they understand the local culture better. Knowledge and acceptance of own traditional values create a better first impression among natives towards foreigners, and they might think that as a respect to them,and eventually guides for better hospitality. Other than that,it may lead to consider these visitors and businessmen as their own family to provide better protection from the possible dangers. For example, in Sri Lanka, if a foreigner talks a few words in Sinhala they get special care in most villages. Thus, understanding native cultures is paramount and important for travellers. However, not caring about these cultural values can create conflicts with the domestic people. In a place which is secret for the locals if outsiders behave in a bad manner, can create problems and if they go against the traditions, these places even lead to punishments. For instance, in the Temple of Tooth Relic in Sri Lanka visitors have to behave well and they cannot enter the premises with half clothing; therefore if somebody tries to go against this, they may end up in conflicts with the local authorities. To sum up, understanding tradition creates a secure and pleasant experience for travellers and businessmen whereas, going against it can create unnecessary problems ultimately ending in prison. Thus, this writer believes that everybody has to obey domestic traditions because it is what we have inherited from our ancestors,and we all would like to protect it.