There is an increasing trend of old people living longer in many countries around the world. Do you think this has a positive or a negative effect on the population as a whole?

With the advances of technology and constant development, people are living more in several nations worldwide recently. I believe that the negative side is more evident and brings about more consequences to a community and each country must deal with it wisely. To begin with, people who are in the senior stage of life usually lack energy to apply all knowledge they have acquired throughout life. It is such an unfortunate event to a nation, because normally they have perfect conditions to work and contribute enormously to the society. Once these people choose not to work and live their life in retirement, they directly become an expense to the government. Therefore, instead of contributing to develop daily a company, for instance, or even counselling a community using their experience, they opt to not be compromised with others. Then, some measures are taken by the State to balance this tendency, such as increasing taxes from those who are the workforce. Despite the selfishness that old people might have, another reason that they may bring evident downsides is in regards of healthy system. It is undeniable that since a country has an aged population, more diseases they may investigate, and better problem solvers doctors become. Unfortunately, these technological advancements are brilliant for those who is able to pay for them. It does not apply to most retired people who depend on the government payment. Private health insurances, for example, have increased their price significantly once their majority of population is old and who pays that bill in the end is the adult population. Hence to conclude, having an elder population is unavoidable to some countries where all developments are settled. However, from a high potential, aged people turn out to be useless by their choice, not because they cannot be useful to a society. For that reason, I believe the negative effects on a country are more evident than the positive ones.