Increasingly, people eat food from other parts of the world, rather than local food. What do you think is driving this trend? Is this a good or a bad development?

It is widely noted that due to globalisation, people from across the globe can now enjoy cuisines from other regions, which are foodstuff that cannot be produced natively. This trend has led to higher consumption of food from foreign sources than those produced locally. This essay will analyse both the merits and demerits of this phenomenon. Firstly, it is irrefutable that utilization of foreign food products has its advantages and such meals may provide people with a highly nutritious diet. For instance, a breed of berries offering an abundant amount of vitamins can only be grown in Asian tropical climate. Secondly, there is a vast array of exotic cuisine that can only be found in one specific region. However, due to globalisation, people from different nations can enjoy each other’s cooking and as well promote their own unique style of cooking. On the other hand, higher consumption of foreign meals also has its demerits. For example, the more demand for cuisines from other areas, the higher its prices are. Consequently, local manufacturers can sometimes not afford to buy and enjoy their own products. Another disadvantage of this trend is that importing and exporting products mean constant transportation, which leads to more pollution caused by emissions from vehicles. Lastly, as such commodities need to be transported over long distances, there would be increased use of chemicals and preservatives to keep them intact. These harmful substances may be unhealthy to consume. In conclusion, cuisines from foreign sources being more rapidly consumed than those from local producers have its advantages regarding health promotion and enjoyment of exotic menu. Some of its disadvantages are in terms of higher prices for local use, pollution due to transportation, and potential health problems caused by the consumption of relating chemicals. Ultimately, I believe the demerits of this trend definitely outweigh its merits.