Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

Over the past few decades, there has been a sharp growth in competition between individuals for admission to universities. This essay vehemently argues that this is a detrimental trend due to the harmful ramifications and its threat to a healthy lifestyle. To commence with, a fundamental demerit would be the dangerous repercussions. An adolescent who attempts to be offered a place at university, would constantly compare his self to his peers and try to be better than them no matter how. This could further encourage youngsters to take drugs such as pills to increase their level of concentration which has a significantly dangerous side effect. For instance, a survey conducted in my country outlines the proportion of youths utilizing concentration medications has remarkably swelled during the past decade. Moreover, struggling to receive an offer from a university is undoubtedly threatening to a healthy lifestyle. This not only increases the chance of individuals committing a crime such as cheating on exams but also dramatically escalates the level of anxiety and stress among students. A case to the point would be one of my pupils who was dealing with a high anxiety level and bribed someone to buy the university entrance interview questions. To conclude, according to what has already been discussed above, everything can be recapitulated into the fact that, in today’s competitive world, the growth of competition between souls for receiving a seat at universities is inevitable which has enormous drawbacks such as self-comparison, drug usage and plummeting the standards of a healthy lifestyle, nonetheless, this sounds completely a negative scenario to me.