Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent times, it has been noted that people are not using libraries regularly as compared to the past. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that computers can replace book galleries, because they are a waste of resource and money, while some critics oppose it, as they think that libraries cannot be replaced. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and share my personal opinion. On the one hand, few techno-savvy adults believe that computers can replace libraries completely. This is mainly due to the fact that libraries occupy a lot of space to keep books and sitting area, which means that, it requires a huge area in a building which otherwise can be saved if people read on their personal computer. For instance, if I want to read a book, then I can read it at home on my personal computer without wasting space and money especially sitting and read in the library. Furthermore, computers carry a high capacity storage space where readers can store a lot of books and read it anytime they wish with easy search. Seen in this light, book rooms can be a waste of resource and currency. On the other hand, the detractors do not agree with the aforementioned standpoint, because they think that the book reading experience is different in the library. The reason for this is if they sit to read or study at home, then they experience a lot of noise and disturbance. In other words, a library can provide a peaceful environment to focus and concentrate. For example, when a student has their exam, they prefer studying in the library rather than at home because they can concentrate more. Not only it provides silent surroundings, but also physical book reading gives much less pressure to the eyes compared to reading a book on a computer. Hence, it becomes apparent that libraries are useful for readers. To conclude, although some folks may opine that libraries are not beneficial, many others believe that they should exist as they provide peaceful surroundings for a reader. In my perspective, there should be libraries as students can have their personal space to read if they are not comfortable reading at home on a computer.