As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is a growing demand for more flights. what problems does this have on the environment? what measures could be taken?

In recent times, the tourism sector has created a demand for more aeroplanes to commute from one place to another. This essay will discuss the issues raised due to this development which include an increase in air and noise pollution in the environment. It will also suggest solutions that could help to overcome this issue. To begin with, people prefer travelling to other places for leisure which demands airline companies to run more flights. This result in more fuel consumption as a plane requires a huge amount of fuel to fly for long-distance travel. Consequently, this creates a lot of air pollution in many countries. For instance, in India, Delhi is the main city for international flights and it has the highest air pollution rate in the entire country due to this. Furthermore, an aeroplane also creates a lot of sound pollution which negatively impacts people residing near the airport. Thus it can be said that higher demand for flights can lead to air and noise pollution. In order to tackle this concern, there could be two possible solutions. Firstly, the government can restrict the fuel consumption of planes by imposing high tax rates on fuel to airline companies. In other words, if the rate of fuel will be high, then the overall flight ticket rate will go up. As a result, people will travel less by airways and choose the other mode of transport to travel such as train or bus. For example, recently the Indigo Airline increased the service tax of airfare because of an increase in fuel prices, due to this people showed less interest to book an expensive flight ticket. Secondly, governments can promote public transports such as train or bus by reducing their fair price so that people will choose them over a plane. Therefore by implementing the above-suggested solutions this problem can be controlled. To conclude, a boost in the tourism sector may impact the flight operations by demanding more and more flights which result can result in air and noise disruption. However, such an issue can be controlled if the government implement necessary regulations on the airline industry. If we want to improve the air quality and reduce the problem of noise due to aeroplane, then air travel should be avoided.