Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctors. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Currently, the increase in the number of patients using alternative medicine has been quite massive, indicating that alternative medicines and treatments have become a popular option for patients to treat their illnesses, compared to visiting specialist doctors or general treatment at hospitals. I believe this is a negative development since many alternatives are not held to the same standards as normal treatments and are often less useful in emergencies. Many alternatives are not strictly regulated. In most countries, alternative medicines not subject to the same regulations in terms of safety and efficacy or in the way that they are marketed. This can be seen in herbal medicines which falsely claim to have specific active ingredients that increase effectiveness, when there is no evidence about this. This also happens with alternative therapies. Many of these therapies are conducted by unregistered practitioners who do not have work permits from a health authority. As a result, this can lead to unethical treatments, or even, a medical error. Additionally, alternative therapies would not be as useful in emergency situations. They need time to work, whereas conventional treatments are developed to take effect quickly. Take patients who require cancer removal as an example. If they delay the surgery with a hope that an alternative treatment will work, the cancer will grow and spread to the other parts of their bodies. Hence, people will miss their chance to cure their diseases completely. To sum up, the phenomenon of using alternative medicines and treatments can lead to a negative development due to lack of regulation of herbal remedies and their ineffectiveness to work in emergency situations.