Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

It has been pointed out that a significant percentage of food produced in some local regions are exported to other countries. In my opinion, this is an appalling situation not only for imported nations’ economy but also for our environment. First of all, those who rely on imported food particularly agricultural food are facing a huge economical issue. The reason is that local residents’ demand for food such as meat and grain is stable, if countries import a lot of food from other regions,local farms or factories have to close down as they no longer need to produce. As a result, the local food industry meets an incredible crisis, which brings a massive drawback for nation productivity and damages the local economy. For instance, China has been making cereal business with France since last year. That French cereal occupies most of the Chinese market which belonged to local manufacturers. Nowadays, local cereal companies have to shut down, which hurts the local economy. Furthermore, if nations are importing and exporting products, transporting products is necessary between those countries, which results in a negative impact on our environment. This is because that transportation vehicles produces a vast amount of air and sea pollution. As an illustration, Chinese companies always transport beef and dairy products from Australia. These items normally are shipped by cargoes which burn a massive proportion of fuels and even emit carbon into our environment, thus leading to air pollutants and even damage our environment. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinions about importing and exporting food between countries. I believe that this is an extremely detrimental trend regarding the local economy and environmental protection.