Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, children are addicted to their mobile phones and spend most of their time on them. Personally, I believe that this has a negative impact on children ’s lives. In this essay, I will explore the reasons why this trend is occurring, and give some reasons to support my opinion. Recently, it is irrefutable that the Internet is widely integrated into our lives; furthermore, the number of people who use it has significantly increased. On the other hand, new cell phones usually come with increasingly advanced and cool features. In fact, almost all cell phones have Wi-Fi facilities and can connect to the Internet easily. Moreover, there are miscellaneous games on it, turning it into an addictive gadget, especially for children. Additionally, there are numerous social media platforms where children can communicate with individuals around the world online and easily make new friends. Therefore, young generations have been attracted to this device by its amazing features. However, spending too much time on cell phones can lead to disastrous consequences. For example, it has been proven that looking at the phone screen for long hours can damage the eyes and reduce the level of vision; also, it can hurt the neck. Thus, health problems can be created by using smartphones constantly. Another issue is that some children are so addicted to this device that they do not care about what is going on around them. Consequently, they cannot assign enough time to their responsibilities. So, I think this procedure is a negative development. To conclude, some young generations use their mobile phones most of the time. Although proposing this device makes our life much more convenient, it can affect children negatively; so, in my view, it is a negative development.