Fresh water has always been limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

All throughout history, access to potable water has been a dramatic issue in certain parts of the world. However, only until the increasing demand hit western and powerful countries did the international awareness of the matter start to be noticeable. I will discuss which could be the main reasons behind this problem and how it can be tackled by both people and authorities. The dramatic expansion of urban areas over the last century played a massive role in the water crisis. Not only because there would be infinitely more people for the same resource, but also because, by demanding more land for construction, many rivers had to change their courses, affecting the components of surrounding lakes and seas. As a result, the same water that could have been safely drunk in the past, is no longer an option. In addition, technological developments and innovations have led to not so eco-friendly industries. Paper factories, for example, are famous for contaminating rivers and making their water a potential hazard for communities. As a result, wealthy countries investing in modern industries are damaging their own water supply in return. There are a number of possible actions that can be held in order to mitigate the lack of water supply. Governments are undoubtedly on the front line of battle. Without proper control over factories and their effects on the environment, any other action would be simply pointless. International cooperation is also essential to encourage every single country to join the cause. In addition, public campaigns might be helpful to raise awareness of the importance of water in society. Only when the problem becomes visible, individuals can take actions to do their part by promoting water -saving and taking good care of all available resources. In conclusion, although the water crisis is probably one of the main challenges the world is facing these days, there is some hope as long as everyone plays their part. Especially if authorities mark the issue as a top priority and put all their efforts together to maximise water access.