Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have the chance to meet to commuicate . What are the advantages of international communication online ? Are there any disadvantages of this ?

It is thought by some individuals that virtual chat is becoming a trend these days, and it is easing the communication between friends and families in different countries. Although this way of communication has many advantages such as allowing people to get to learn new cultures while sitting at their homes, it also has some drawbacks like the risk of being exposed to online fraud. On the one hand, in recent days, the use of internet and social media is growing dramatically, where individuals from all over the world can talk or chat with each other on the spot, whether they are in the same country or even in another continent. This technology allows people to talk to other individuals of other countries and get to know their culture and learn their language. In addition to that, it gave the chance to families living in different countries to communicate daily without the need to travel. For example, students who study abroad are in contact with their families on daily basis, using mobile applications like Facebook or Facetime. However, there is a major downside of using online social media, which is the addiction to the use of technology. Individuals who use the internet without control could waste their time online and leave other responsibilities they have to do. For instance, people who use the internet overnight would fail to wake up early in the morning for work, therefore they will have the risk of losing their job. One other disadvantage to the use of technology is the risk of online frauds, especially for children. To conclude, the use of technology and social media has improved the way of communication between all human, such as families living in different countries. While it also has some downsides which are the risk of addiction to using it.