One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweight the disadvantages?

Currently, with the advance in science humans are developing new technologies in all areas, especially in health care making people live more. This is resulting in a contentious debate about whether is a positive development or not. I tend to disagree that is more advantageous because this will result in dreadful problems for mankind. On the one hand, there are some positive points for people living longer. For instance, renowned scientists would be able to go further with their researches and find out more interesting aspects of life. Additionally, individuals will enjoy their retiring time longer and spend more time with their families. Therefore, humankind will achieve more and be happier knowing they would have more time after working life. On the other hand, the world will face appalling issues if more people live over 100 years. For example, overpopulation would be a major issue because there will not be enough land to build houses and farming food for everyone, moreover, our natural resources would decrease rapidly. Furthermore, there is a retiring pension problem, with the same birth rate and the population living more there will not be enough money for everyone retiring. Thus, with life expectancy increasing mankind will have tough issues to tackle. In conclusion, I believe that dying later is great for the individual, however, our world would be doomed with new problems. That is why I think is more disadvantageous because we would lack resources and land for a bigger population resulting in the end of the world as we know it.