Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

During the last half century, the tourism has boosted due to multiple factors. In some popular zones, this increment in visitors has brought negative consequences. Nevertheless, for some people, tourism is still a crucial source of income. In the following essay both points of view will be analysed and discussed. On the bright side, tourism is a big part of the world economy, there are countries that depend heavily on it. Just to mention an example, the main source of income in Spain is the tourism sector, they have created a whole economy around hotels, museums, historic places and other services. If there were a decrease in the number of visitors, the whole Spanish budget would be seriously hurt, as it has been demonstrated during the last year of the pandemic. Besides, there are other benefits linked to travelling. Visitors often learn languages, observe new cultures and, through tourism more awareness about the environment can be taught. On the flip side, the overexploitation of some places has become a deep problem. We can take Barcelona as an example, after a sharp increment in the visits to the city, neighbours of the downtown started a campaign to expel newcomers to the city as it was so crowded and contaminated that it was not enjoyable anymore. The same is happening with some conservation areas that are open to the public and end up completely destroyed for tourists. However, these situations might be avoided if local governments established more strict rules for the use and enjoyment of certain areas. In conclusion, there are arguments for and against tourism. Nonetheless, I strongly believe that the benefits outweigh the negative effects. The latter can be foreseen and prevented by local governments and laws, and the former can be exploited to get even more of them.