Some people believe that having sport in schools is a waste of time and resources, whilst other people believe that sport in schools is a vital part of education. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While some people critic the fact that sports are taught in schools, as they seem it like a waste of resources, some others claim that sports are a crucial part of the scholar life. In this short essay, both views will be analysed and discussed. A lot of people raise their voices against the practice of sports in schools, they argue that those resources invested in sports could be used in more useful subjects that will have more impact in the students’ future. For instance, learning about soccer or basketball becomes a waste of time for someone who wants to be an Architect or an Economist. Following this idea, sports and physical education should not be taught and instead, some other general subjects should replace them. On the contrary, other people support the idea that sports are extremely important in the development of a healthier lifestyle, that’s why it should be imparted in schools. Even if a student does not become an athlete, it is necessary that they keep a healthy lifestyle, and usually, it requires the practice of any sport. Just to mention an example, if it wasn´t for the practice of running and playing football since my primary school, I should not have acquired the discipline to do it daily in my adulthood. That’s why it is important to create those routines from the school. In conclusion, having discussed both points of view, I would say that I could not agree more with those who claim that learning sports in academy is useful and even, necessary.