Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unemployment is a problem every country is facing. To solve this problem, some people believe that the government should use public money to grant every unemployed person a mobile phone and internet access. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative effect of this policy. If the unemployed are given mobile phones and internet access, there is a greater chance for them to find a job, thus reducing the unemployment rate. This is because, on the internet, they can find a lot of resources to improve their skill such as Youtube videos, and Wikipedia. Not only that, but they can easily find job openings on websites like Linkedin or Glassdoor. Having correct resources will make it easier for them to settle for a job. Therefore, using the public money for giving job seekers resources for finding a job will help reduce the unemployment rate. On the other hand, there is a chance that this policy will be ineffective as unemployed people will only use the phone for entertainment purposes such as playing games or scrolling social media timeline. These two activities sometimes can be so addictive, therefore people will unconsciously lose their time which they actually could use for improving their skills. This is why giving phones to the jobless is a waste of public fund, it will not help the unemployment issue. In conclusion, giving away phones with internet access to jobless people could help to solve the unemployment issue. However, phones can be misused for entertainment purposes, hence they will only be a waste of public fund. I believe that unemployment problem should be fixed with a more specific and targeted solution such as giving training or cooperating with businesses.