In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

As the global population grows, food shortage is becoming an alarming issue being widely spread and discussed. Nowadays, the world is producing enough food for everyone; even so, more than 11% of the population is malnourished. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this situation and suggest solutions. The first and foremost reason for food shortage is food waste. In developed countries, farming and food production are well-developed. The population in these countries is wealthy enough to buy any food they want. As people don't feel food shortage, they keep wasting it. Meanwhile, people in underdeveloped countries are malnourished. Generally, poor people don't have their own land to grow crops, they have to buy it. But, when prices increase the poor cannot afford to buy enough food. Secondly, extreme weather conditions also cause a food shortage. For example, some African countries have persistent droughts. In these countries, it may not rain for years. Consequently, people cannot grow anything on dry land. They become dependent on agriculture grown in other countries. Every country has its own reason for food shortage such as droughts, poverty or inefficient agriculture. Therefore, the solution for hunger should be individually applied. Some governments should ensure that poor people can get food for free or at a cheaper price. The rich countries should share their access to food with less wealthy countries. International organizations should help to develop agriculture by providing training. To sum up, food scarcity will be a global issue in the longer run. According to the U.N. estimations, by 2050 demand for food will grow by at least 60%. Therefore, nations have to take timely measures in order to prevent the upcoming global crisis.