Some people say that manufacturers and supermarkets should take the responsibility of reducing the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should take responsibility and avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While several people think that goods producers and distributors such as grocery marts should be responsible for minimizing the goods packaging material usage, some believe that consumers should be accountable for that and had better not buy overwrapped products. I am convinced that both manufacturers and buyers should take the responsibility of reducing the amount of packaging. On the one hand, goods producers and retailers have benefits as well as responsibilities to use less packaging. Firstly, reducing packaging means cutting costs, and manufacturers will significantly benefit from this. Moreover, goods producers should be responsible for using less packaging in order to protect the environment because to produce goods, manufacturers have to exploit a huge volume of natural resources and while processing, factories emit dust and pollutants into nature. It is evident that factories are one of the biggest polluters of the environment and they should take action to relieve their bad reputation by using less packaging. On the other hand, consumers play a crucial role in reducing packaging because they have the power and responsibility to do that. First, there is no doubt that the power is in the buyers’ hands since they can give more support or buy more products from brands that are eco-friendly or use less packaging. For example, young consumers nowadays prefer to buy products that are simply wrapped or using materials that can be easily recycled. Next, buyers also benefit from a better living environment. Human beings can not live apart from nature, and if the surrounding habitat is polluted by plastic or other materials from goods packaging, people all have to suffer from that pollution. In conclusion, I believe that both manufacturers and consumers have the right and responsibility to reduce the packaging of goods, and they should all actively do their best to gain more benefits as well as maintain a worth living environment.