Some people think the governments should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles in order to solve environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems are becoming an issue and some people think that the cost of fuel should be increased by local governments in order to deal with this situation. I strongly disagree with the statement and in this essay I will discuss that there are better options to tackle environmental issues. Global worming, water and air pollution and other global problems are constantly increasing. Some people believe that making the petrol more expencive, will help somehow to reduce pollutants and so help the environment. Although the transportation industry is one of the main problem, is not by increasing the cost of fuel that you will solve this issue. In fact, if we really want to make an impact, we need to profoundly change the whole industry. For example, investing in more sustainable and carbon free energies that can power our cars or buses or even trains. The most interesting technology is the use of hydrogen for cars and other vehicles. Nissan car manufacturer, has recently developed and produced a car that utilises only hydrogen and the waste is water. Governments should give more incentives to the people that want to buy a new car, allowing them to buy a hydrogen car. They should make new laws that ban the production of cars that depends on fossil fuels. In this way we can drastically change the world into a cleaner one. To conclude, many people think that to reduce environmental issues, governments should increase the cost of fuels, while I stronly disagree with that as it is known that to make an impact and change this negative trend the whole transportation industry has to change towards a more sustainable path.