Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that health is the greatest asset and wealth of a nation. Therefore, governments spend budget money on population health care. Meanwhile, some people believe that the budgetary funds should be spent on the prevention of diseases and health education rather than cure. In my opinion, it is a sound idea. The importance of health -related issues prevention cannot be denied. First of all, a country's economic development has a clear link to the health condition of its citizens. For instance, iodine is vitally important for people; thus, people who have a deficit of iodine are passive and unengaged. Therefore, timely measures of the government to prevent vitamin deficits can have a conducive effect on economic development. Secondly, many people die of cancer and other diseases; as those were detected late. That happens because people in developing countries try to treat themselves prior to going to hospitals. Therefore, governments should also focus on educating people and making them understand the importance of yearly check-ups. Moreover, free medical care would encourage people to go to hospitals; consequently, many diseases could be prevented. For example, in Germany health insurance is obligatory and people with health insurances can get free medical care. To sum up, I strongly believe that prevention of health issues is more important than treatment and beneficial on different levels. Governments should promote a healthy lifestyle, people should be responsible for their health conditions and frequently visit hospitals to monitor their health; thus, diseases may be timely detected and cured.