Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items, what are the reasons for this, do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Purchasing trending objects despite of their extortionate prices is a common action among our society. The paragraphs below will discuss this statement, explaining the reasons that lead to this situation and, then, I will give my opinion, evidencing why I consider the downsides stronger. To begin with, the main reason why I believe individuals are acquiring trending brands is because they are trying to stand out socially. Plenty of people consider having the moment purse or smartphone, important to maintain a status quo. For instance, buying exquisite garments and jewelry make individuals feel rich and part of the high society, working as a way to improve their self-esteem. Moreover, these items play a role in making ones feel updated towards the moment acquisitions that everyone should have, not staying behind. However, I strongly consider that this situation has more drawbacks than upsides. People need to be aware of the negative effects. For instance, owning trending objects can become an addiction, making the individual buy things they do not necessarily need. Furthermore, another motive justify this notion is due to the fact that the more people buy, the higher the price will be, following the supply-and-demand model. Therefore, one could have monetary debt in order to keep an updated style or a current new car. To summarize, our society is always trying to maintain a status quo to not feel underestimated by others. Although, I believe this insistence can cause financial problems and mental illnesses such as getting dependent.