The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Since the dawn of civilisation, humankind has always been dependant on fossil fuels to generate energy for their survival. In recent times, the experts posit that natural resources are running out due to such overuse and it is essential to look for alternatives. In this essay, I will discuss why I strongly support the ideas of exploring and developing other options in order to keep up the stock of fossil fuels in future. The primary reason why it is absolutely necessary to find alternative options is the adverse consequences of combusting fossil fuels on the environment. In the process of generating energy from coal, oil or petroleum, huge amounts of pollutants are emitted and mixed in the air, water and soil, which is responsible for the alarming rate of pollutions across the globe. The electricity industries in Tokyo, for example, are the biggest consumer of coal and produces gases like carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide, which are the main culprits behind the poor air quality in the country. This issue can be curbed by the use of geothermal power or hydropower instead of natural resources. Another ground for shifting the load on renewable energy is the hazards of extracting fossil fuels. The complicated extraction processes often destroy nature rapidly. Getting coal and petroleum, for instance, requires digging deeper into the earth or deforestations at times, which deprive wild animals of their habitats. This certainly, has detrimental effects on the existing balance of the flora and fauna. In conclusion, the surge in the usage of fossil fuels has raised the requirement for a sustainable substitute. Alternatives such as green energy, biomass and hydropower, indeed, not only save the modern world from the adversities but also maintains balance in the ecosystem.