In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects (example literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (example physics). Why do you think is so? Should this tendency be changed? Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, students have a plethora of options to choose for their career. However, it is a general perspective that females prefer art subjects whereas, males go for science subjects. There are several reasons for this as discussed in the following paragraphs further explained as to whether it is a positive thing or not. Girls usually opt arts subjects as they do not demand a huge time investment. Women have additional responsibilities at home therefore, they allocate their time accordingly. For instance, my friend, Emma chose arts as she has to prepare dinner for her family every evening, hence, she is unable to devote long hours to her studies. On the other hand, when boys study at a school or university, they do not have substantial duties and it is easier for them to learn science for an indefinite period. In my opinion, the propensity of the outlook under consideration should be definitely amended. Further, it has really evolved over time. Now, people of both the genders can be seen in every field, be it arts or science. For example, my sister wanted to become an astronaut and her family has fully supported her at every phase. Today she is well-known in her clan and is highly respected and successful. Moreover, according to a survey, the gender gap has declined by 20 per cent in the area of science course. To conclude, selecting subjects on the basis of femininity or masculinity is a thing of the past. The society has refashioned itself for the betterment of the planet as a whole.