Some people think that in order to solve traffic and transportation problems, people should be encouraged to live in cities rather than in suburbs or in the country side. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by a few people that the migration of the rural population to cities is a solution to traffic congestion and shipping issues. I strongly disagree with the narrative because there are many consequences of this movement. Firstly, if more and more people from the suburbs relocate to the metro cities, the pressure of population will increase in urban areas. It could result in massive traffic jams on the roads, causing more harm. For instance, a rise in the population of the city would encourage all the people to use the existing resources and would cause a shortage ultimately. Also, if more people start using the existing transport system, an overload could cause its breakdown and further worsen the situation. Additionally, it would be difficult to manage the rise of population in cities and could hamper the daily activities of the citizens living there. Moreover, there are limited employment opportunities in cities and adding more population will result in an increase in the percentage of unemployed people. Secondly, instead of solving the existing issues of congestion, it could lead to other issues in different sectors as well. For example, if everyone moves to cities, there would be a huge impact on the agriculture sector as there would be no one to take care of agricultural activities, namely farming. This could further lead to other problems, such as inflation and a low supply of basic necessity items. Furthermore, the nation’s growth in other areas would also be severely impacted. In conclusion, migration of people from rural regions will cause more harm and can even cause a collapse of the existing system. Therefore, other options should be considered to tackle the problems related to traffic and transportation.