All children should be given free laptop when they start high school. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea of giving free personal laptops to all student when they start high school sounds practical and necessary. I strongly agree with it because it will help them to develop the skills needed in this interconnected world. To begin, the world in which we live today has changed dramatically in the last decades, it is obvious that we depend deeply on information technologies. Having said that, if the world evolves, the school needs to change as well. Maybe, the most important tool nowadays is a computer, an infinite range of skills can be learned by using one. Just to mention some examples, with a PC one child can learn something basic like drawing using Paint, or even complex abilities such as editing videos and photos with PhotoShop or other similar software. Besides, having access to a personal computer almost guarantees access to the Internet too, and here is where the majority of benefits can be seen. Different activities rely on the net, from looking for a job to taking a PhD in some of the most prestigious universities. If children learn how to use responsibly computers and the Internet they will have advantages when facing adult life. To exemplify, it is common to see nowadays, how the elders struggle when surfing on the web, some of them have difficulties finding a professional opportunity because they lack the knowledge to use online tools. All these issues would be avoided if they would have had their own laptop since their youth. To conclude, having a private laptop would be highly beneficial for children entering high school. It would make them familiar with a huge range of tools that are practical in adulthood, besides they will get used to the use of the World Wide Web and this can be a tremendous advantage in further stages of their lives.