Advice for Medical Problems Some people today prefer to get advice for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

It can be generally observed that many people today prefer to seek answers to their medical problems online, instead of traditionally going to their GP straight away. It is certainly true that there are multiple reasons why people choose to do this and many people think that this can be a driving force for a number of undesirable outcomes, while others are of the opinion that this has the potential to turn into something helpful. It cannot be denied that the advance of the internet has drastically changed people ’s behaviour, including how people choose to seek information about medical issues. Not only people choose to use the internet to find more information about their symptoms, some people also decide to forego seeing a medical professional altogether. Since a vast number of internet sources are available to people with a click of a finger, it seems quite logical to assume that internet users would take advantage of all the unlimited resources available online when it comes to medical concerns. For instance, if a regular user of the internet would develop a rash it seems only reasonable that the person in question would most definitely google their symptoms and try to pin down the possible causes, name of the condition and available treatments. The use of search engines to gain some perspective about your medical symptoms only becomes a danger when people decide to substitute the sources available on the internet for a professional diagnosis. When people decide to self-diagnose their symptoms on the internet without seeing a doctor, this could potentially result in a number of harmful, damaging consequences that could have been avoided. For example, because of their lack of knowledge and medical training, people could misdiagnose a medical condition and as a result, make it worse. People could also mistake a serious condition for something else and in turn waste a lot of time that could be essential in order to seek professional help. In conclusion, the availability of medical resources on the internet has contributed to people looking up their medical symptoms online and this phenomenon could only be harmful when people decide to substitute this for a professional diagnosis.