Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is said that computers are necessary in order to simply live in the modern world and should be implemented in scholastic teachings. I believe that the presence of personal computerized devices at school should be mandatory and then the reason why it should not. Some people believe that electronic devices are now part of our lifestyle and should be introduced in classes because they allow students to learn things faster. Furthermore, children are fascinated by technology so, efficiently, of course, iPads and laptops are useful to allow them to be more performant. For instance, the College University of Michigan’s study in 2018 showed that using technology in American secondary grades is, nowadays, 45% more effective than only using books as teaching material. Additionally, 65% of them are used to them in everyday situations, making the offspring learn faster in every subject that uses these technologies. Ipads as well as laptops should not be used in class due to the fact that they manipulate the students’ minds, making them not useful for learning. Moreover, by allowing the electronics in classrooms, students tend to not pay attention to the teacher anymore causing the teachings to not be understood properly. For example, Harvard University conducted research in 2024 on children’s behaviour in the presence of laptops. The results illustrated that 70% of the time, the presence of electronic devices in classes is prone to distract the offspring’s attention, making the usage of computers in class inefficient. To conclude, I personally think that computers should not be introduced into classrooms since they can disrupt the teachings and make the classes ineffective.