Scientific developments in farming always bring major benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often said that modern farming is a key area of scientific research, with broad advantages for all human societies. While I accept that developed agriculture may have its dangers, I believe that the benefits of scientists method outweigh the drawbacks. The negative implication of modern agriculture are often discussed in term of one key area, which is crops production. Genetically modified crop are already being grown, and people are most concerned that they may damage whole ecosystems as crops become resistant to diseases and natural predators. But perhaps even more worrying is the possibility that such crops and using pesticides and herbicides could cause cancer, asthma and other respiratory diseases. Another implication of using pesticides is that precipitation can wash and transmit this pesticides to aquifer or even rivers. When these chemicals come into underwater can cause water be toxic and such problem could bring major threat for all creature that drink water. A more optimistic prediction, and one that I favour, is that scientists will find ways to mitigate the risks and use genetic technologies and developed farming in a responsible way. From the crops production perspective, genetic engineering could be the solution to famine in developing countries, if, for instance, crops can be grown more reliably in harsh conditions. Also, the human population is exploding and this means demand for more and more foods so old-fashioned farming ways cannot produce amount of crops that meet the eating needs of human. However, scientists can use genetic engineering method to make crops that have huge fruit compare with traditional agriculture in equal condition. Furthermore, genetically modified plant do not need to insecticides and there is no risk of aquifer contamination. In conclusion, I am convinced that modern farming will have a positive impact on our lives, and that people's fears will be unwarranted.