In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Earlier students did their higher education in their own country, but in the last few years due to globalization, more students have decided to complete their university or masters abroad. There are those that believe this development has only advantages whereas there are others that claim studying abroad is a negative development. The benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad will be discussed in the following essay. On the one hand, there are clear advantages to studying abroad. One important benefit is that students will become more independent especially the young ones. In other words, when a student moves to another country he/she has to deal with the real world without any parental support For instance, pay their rent and education fees at the end of the month, and do the household chores on their own. However, on the other hand, there are definite disadvantages to letting young students study abroad. One significant drawback is that many students who go abroad to study often end up staying in the new country. As a result, there will be huge losses for some countries, because the bright minds will not go back to their countries and contribute to the development of it. In conclusion, there are both merits and demerits to studying abroad, as described above. In my opinion, migration can help the students to have new experiences and get to learn more about new cultures and people from different backgrounds. Needless to say, studying abroad can support the student’s cv consequently, those students can find well-paid jobs. Nevertheless, some of them might suffer from loneliness and severe cultural shock.