In many counties, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Thanks to the improvement in science and technology and the increase in welfare in our society, people’s life expectancy has been increased in some counties, especially developed countries. Though senior citizens can contribute extraordinarily to society, I would think that this should be seen as a negative trend. Undoubtedly, considering that most elders are more skilled and experienced, in contrast to the young generation, if they can postpone retirement and extend their working life, their experience and wisdom are more likely to be a valuable asset to the whole society. People today can live healthier and longer since they pay closer attention to a healthy diet and sports. After retirement, some of them can work as consultants and impact their knowledge and skills to the younger generation. To only give an example, it is not rare to see on a daily basis that many elders are willing to teach young people how to manage a company and provide better service for clients. However, it seems reasonable that an increasing number of elders in a country will lead to a series of problems in society, one of which is that healthcare costs will escalate, impose a burden on governments and taxpayers. It is widely known that most medical needs and costs occur in the last years of life, which forces governments to pour more money into caring for the elderly so that other essential services, including education, entertainment and scientific research will be underfunded. Furthermore, the slow pace of work is another problem as the number of senior workers increases. According to many modern studies related to elders, the ability to absorb information and complete work normally declines with age. If senior workers delay retirement, they are likely to be unable to perform as well as young workers and this will influence companies or a country’s productivity and profitability. To summarize, even though senior workers’ experience and knowledge are invaluable for the whole society, I am not optimistic that a country with a higher number of elders can develop its economy as well as other countries with a balanced demographic structure do.