Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Health is the most important factor for every human being. Some people opine that the government is responsible for people ’s health, whereas others support the notion that it is in people ’s hand to be healthy and fit. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and share my personal opinion. On the one hand, a group of people state that the government should look after the health aspect of its citizens. This is because poor people in the country cannot afford to get admitted to hospitals that charge high bills to their patients for their services. In other words, if the government provides all the necessary health facilities to its citizens at a minimal cost by building government hospitals with modern equipment and specialist doctors, then poor people can save their lives. Thus, it is believed by few adults that this could be looked after by the health ministry of a country. On the other hand, some set of people think that people should take care of themselves instead of relying on the health ministry. They say that people should regularly perform an exercise and eat healthy food so that they remain fit and healthy and do not experience any kind of medical situation. For example, it has been widely known that an apple a day keeps a doctor away so if people follow this advice by health experts, then there are fewer chances of falling ill. Furthermore, if an individual can take care of themselves then the government can use their efforts in other problems such as education facility, employment problems, infrastructure needs. Therefore, an individual could be responsible for their own health. In conclusion, some people claim that all the health -related facilities should be provided by the government, while others opine that an individual should eat healthily and exercise regularly to remain healthy. In my view, an individual shall be accountable for their own well-being and the government can take certain initiatives to create more awareness among people so that they get motivated to do the exercise and stay fit.