In many countries, more and more young people are leaving school but unable to find jobs. What problems do you think youth unemployment causes for individuals and the society? What measures should be taken to reduce the level of unemployment among youngsters?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that the accelerating number of youngsters is leaving school but unable to look for jobs. Issues brought about by youth unemployment for individuals and society as well as necessary solutions to curb those ones will be clarified in this essay. As for an individual level, young people who cannot have a job would be supposed to heavily rely on their parents’ allowance and this means they might not become cognizant of how to manage money, a crucial skill in real life. Besides that, being unemployed is a highly stressful situation, so it may cause stress-related health issues such as headaches, high blood pressure or diabetes. As for the social level, higher unemployment rates may result in higher crime rates because committing crimes is the sole way for those being unemployed to maintain their livelihoods. Communities with high unemployment rates are more likely to have limited employment opportunities, low-quality housing, fewer available recreational activities, limited access to public transportation and public services and underfunded schools. There are two possible measures that may implement to tackle the unemployment issue. The first one is focusing on boosting economic development. With higher output and positive economic growth, firms tend to employ more workers creating more job opportunities. The second one is attracting foreign direct investment. Increased FDI boosts the manufacturing as well as the services sector. This in turn creates jobs, and helps reduce unemployment among the educated youth. In conclusion, high youth unemployment rates have been causing a lot of problems for individuals and society. However, with the solutions mentioned above, the degree of unemployment among young people may be reduced.