In many countries, truancy is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

In this day and age, children in a wide range of countries tend to play truant from school, which is an anxiety issue for their parents as well as educators. I can identify two main causes, and two broad effects, which we will describe now. Perhaps the main cause is a sense of boredom, this can be seen in the way that students have to learn a subject which does not engage them. For instance, pupils are fed up with the content, slides or even the teacher’s way of teaching. It would appear that absenting and heading out to play unsupervised may bring them happiness. Another important factor may frequently involve peer’s invitation, meaning that children desire to play truant from school because some of their friends or classmates persuade them to do this by some fascinating feedback. To take one example, playing a video game is more attracting than an unannounced test in class or uninspiring lessons in school. Turning to possible effects, truancy may lead to missing the point of knowledge, which has a strong influence on pupil’s exam results and also interrupts academic process of students in their later life. Another impact may be negative behaviour and the increase of participating in crime. For example, parents often believe that preventing their children from truancy by cutting their money is efficient. However, in this case, the child tends to express an unsatisfactory emotion, and then they will try to steal money from someone to play truant. Moreover, this act can become a bad habit, which can cause theft and robbery in the wider community. To sum up, the roots of truancy generally relate to a sense of boredom or peer pressure, while the effects are seen in the lack of knowledge and in the rise of taking part in crime against the community as a whole.