Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Water usage has been on the rise for many years, and the world’s limited supply of renewable fresh water is having to meet the demands of both a larger total population and increased consumption. In my opinion, the only way to resolve this problem in the long term is to treat water as a commodity that has to be paid for, in conjunction with conservation measures. One of the main reasons why water has become scarce is that the population is growing and it needs feeding. Agriculture uses vast amounts of water for irrigation, and where once there were small farms and settlements near clean rivers, there are now huge cities exploiting the same sources. This means that rivers are being diverted to where the greatest demand is, leaving many people with a dwindling supply. To make matters worse, climate change has caused unpredictable rain patterns, so that natural reservoirs and aquifers are running dry. With domestic and industrial demands also increasing, the capacity of water supply systems is under growing strain. Many experts believe that the best way to counter this trend is to impose water charges based on the real cost of supplies. This would provide a powerful incentive for consumers to introduce water -saving processes and recycling. The government could also do more to cut back on water consumption by simply updating and maintaining the antiquated water supply infrastructure in many countries. Large quantities of water are also wasted because used water from sewage pipes, storm drains and factories is merely flushed away and discharged into rivers or the sea. It would be much better to see used water as a resource which can be put to good use, as can be seen in several cities such as Zurich where all municipal water is recycled back into domestic systems. In conclusion, the demand for water will continue to increase, so governments must act quickly to ensure an adequate supply for future generations.