Some people believe the benefits of tourism outweigh the problems it creates in a particular place. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The effects of tourism in society are debatable. It is believed that the positive outcomes of tourists are far better than their shortcomings. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and give the opinion that tourists are better. There are two main benefits of having visitors in a country. First of all, new people will bring much needed revenue in the economy. In other words, visitors will without a doubt spend money of food, transport, sourvenirs and entrance fees to major attractions. As an example, in Rwanda a permit to visit the Virunga national park will cost a foreign tourist two thousand dollars alone. However, that is not counting the spending power of other items such as hotel and restaurants. In addition, employment opportunities are created in places where lots attractions are found. It is inevitable that jobs will be created to cater for the needs and wishes of the guests. Such as cooks, drivers, porters and security guards in all of these places. For instrance, Akagera National Park in Rwanda employes over ten thousand full-time workers on this premises. Despite the advantages of the tourism industry, its important to note that they are several negative aspects that it brings. Firstly, popular areas with people coming in and out are known to have significantly hight standards of living for the local population. This is caused by high prices imposed on the hight earners who can afford to travel for leisure purposes. This is especially true in places such as Dubai, which experiences large amounts of tourism each year. Secondly, the natural environment will be destroyed due to increased foot traffic in some of these serene areas. Tourists are known as the largest ground that causes pollution due to the amount of trash that they leave behind. A common example is the amount of trash that is left on Mount Everest every year. In a conclusion, this essay discussed the merits of tourism in a country but also showed its disadvantages. In short, it gave the opinion that ultimately tourism is better for a country.