Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

Money management knowledge is essential in life. Its believed that a small number of kids learn the value of money while in school. I believe that this is an accurate argument and will demonstrate this in this essay. There are two fundamental reasons why i agree that dealing with money is not taught in school. First of all, traditionally the teaching in school have been about history, science and math. Managing money has not been talked about a lot. For instance, in my case, i remember only learning how to handle finances when i reached university level. Consequently, i found it very difficult to cope with campus life due to my ignorance regarding money. It would have been best for my parents, to teach me about it before sending me to university. In short, money management skills are essential tools to have as we grow up. Secondly, the education system in Africa was designed immediately after colonialism hence the reason why money skills were not included. As a result of being colonized by European nations, majority of African nations were not given the opportunity to participate in their school curriculums. In other words, the learning platform in place does not match the desire and needs of African societies. Overall, handling money and importance of cash has not been included in our school due to our past experiences as dominated nations. In a conclusion, i agree completely that monetary significance has not been advocated for in our learning spaces and as result our young ones have not been given this opportunity later in life. This has been illustrated by our traditional and historical past, most especially as Africans