Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The architectural specimen of an area represent its cultural heritage and way of life, there are demands from many sections of society to demolish ancient structures in order to provide space for new ones. It has been noticed that old buildings are dangerous due to their unreliability with regards to structural robustness but some buildings represent a lot about a culture, additionally, they may also have significant emotional values. I will discuss these aspects related to old buildings in this essay. First and foremost, the paucity of space in major cities has resulted in the articulation of the argument against older buildings. The older buildings which generally have antediluvian fire-exit planning, electrical wiring, and worn-out materials are, conspicuously, dangerous for their occupants. For instance, in the last 12 months, there have been 22 casualties due to structural collapses in Delhi. Consequently, an overhauling or demolition of such buildings is required on priority and the municipality should not be frugal towards it. On the other hand, these archaic structures add to the diversity of a place and give it a heterogenous pattern instead of a monotonous one. The ambience and aura, for example, of a place are the accumulation of different vibes that its monuments, people and cultural lifestyle emanate. Therefore, many societies prefer not to knock down their aged houses and temples so that they can retain the originality of their culture along with the overall visual appeal. This uniqueness also helps a city to allure tourists, thus, if a society is sensible, it would try to retain its unique hues and flavours. To sum up, it is people's lives that is the most important thing to consider when assessing the eradication of old buildings. Further, proper inspections must be done to assess the structural reliability before its demolition so that we may be able to hold on to our historical bonds as well.