Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children now are more passive in their spare time than previous generations. Hence, sports lessons must be taught in school. I am totally convinced by the idea for some reasons mentioned in the essay. Firstly, children should spend more time getting regular physical exercise, which is good for their physical and mental health. That reduces the number of young patients who suffer from obesity, diabetes, and health-related issues. The fact is that students who do exercise frequently are happier and more energetic. They are less likely to get ill. Besides, when they take part in team sports such as football and basketball, they can cooperate with others and develop their leadership skills and teamwork, which will prepare them well for their future lives and careers. It helps them shape their well-rounded personality and encourages their discipline, time management, and resilience. Evidently, most successful individuals in their adult life used to do lots of sports activities. Thanks to those lessons, they are well-disciplined and responsible. Secondly, most parents lack the time, money, and knowledge to let their children be involved in physical activities outside of school since they are too busy with their jobs. Therefore, when physical education is a compulsory subject, it ensures that no one is left behind. They all have equal rights to keep fit and stay healthy. In conclusion, the actual fact is that youngsters nowadays are less keen on doing physical activities in their leisure time than their parents used to, which leads to negative consequences related to mental and physical health. Hence, sports lessons must be introduced to the school curriculum to make sure all children get the benefits that sports bring.