Many people believe that individuals are responsible for their own happiness, while others think happiness is dependent on other external factors. Discuss both views and include your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and examples from your experience.

Since remote times, being happy has always been a human desire. Some people think that achieving happiness is the responsibility of a particular person, while others argue it is the result of external factors. This essay will discuss both, why happiness is dependent on the individual and his or her surrounding. On the one hand, we have to be conscious that when making decisions, these and their consequences are our responsibility. For instance, most of us have once taken a choice that in the end did not result as expected, even though people around us advocated against our decision. We are all aware of our personal ambitions and want the best for ourselves, these give us the possibility of making the best decisions with responsibility. Therefore, nobody can be happy without taking personal life decisions. On the other hand, as human beings living within society we inevitably establish relations and connexions with people and things in our environment. For example, there are activities such as attending concerts or sports events, in which sharing with others augments our feeling of joy. We are social individuals that need to share and coexist. Thus, it is certain that the decisions and behaviours of people close to us can impact positively or negatively our state of happiness. In conclusion, individuals are responsible of the decisions that take them to be happy, however, the surrounding has a direct contribution too. In my opinion, we are the most capable of taking the best choices regarding what and with whom we do certain things that will bring joy into our lives.