some people say that students should be given more homework. Others say that children should be free to enjoy their youth. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has been suggested by some that an increasing amount of homework should be offered to pupils, while other people state that school learner ought to be given the freedom to appreciate their own leisure time when they are young. Personally, I agree with the latter idea as requiring doing more homework is detrimental for students ' academic performance. On the one hand, some people argue that students should be asked to do more homework after school. The reason is that if the young generations spend a considerable amount of their free time studying school subjects, they have limited exposure to misbehaviours which are promoted in social media and in their surroundings. As a result, young people are less likely to be misled by appalling information, which lowers the risk of committing crimes among children, thus contributing to a stable society. For example, as Chinese children have been requested to do more and more homework, they do not have enough energy and time to watch misleading information online. Consequently, the crime rate of adolescents is extremely low in China. On the other hand, others, including me, believe that young children should be provided more quality time to enjoy their life. The reason is that several subjects such as maths and biology are less hands-on, tedious and complicated. If students always immerse themselves into learning those subjects, their concentration and enthusiasm towards studying will be reduced, thus leading to poor academic performance. By contrast, if they are able to enjoy their own time after school, their mind will have a period of time to re-energise, thus helping them have a wonderful result at the end. As an illustration, most Chinese school learners are overwhelmed by their academic assignments, and they burn their midnight oil to do homework. However, they do not gain wonderful results at their national examination as they have not been passionate about studying. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinions about whether students should be given more homework or not, I think that more homework will harm pupils' learning passion and results in poor performance.