Some peope believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today's world, alternative sentencing has become more popular than longer prison sentences. While some argue that longer prison sentences burden taxpayers, others contend that community services or proper educational programs can reduce recidivism rates. I believe that alternative sentencing has more benefits than traditional prison sentences. To begin with, an offender serving longer sentences may not understand the impact of their actions, often remaining idle and unproductive. In this case, the longer the prison sentence, the higher the cost to taxpayers. For instance, in Taiwan, people convicted of severe crimes like murder or random killing are given lengthy prison sentences. However, there is no clear evidence that those offenders improve as a result of extended incarceration. Therefore, longer prison sentences may increase incarceration costs without positively impacting society. Conversely, alternative sentencing options such as counselling, community services, and educational courses provide support for those individuals with mental and physical disorders. With the goal of rehabilitation and reducing recidivism rates, educational courses can help offenders change their negative perspectives. For example, in the U.S., a woman with severe depression killed her husband and attempted suicide. She survived and was sent to jail. While in jail, the judge mandated that she receive mental health education and treatment, She eventually became a rehabilitated, functional, and independent individual by regularly taking her medication. In conclusion, alternative sentencing not only reduces the financial burden on taxpayers but also offers opportunities for rehabilitation. Additionally, it is key to reducing recidivism rates by reforming offenders, whereas prison sentences often fail to positively impact their lives.