Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

It is often argued that Authorities should pay more attention to build more railways than to increase the length of the roads. I disagree with that opinion and think otherwise that roads should be given the first priority if the government wants to improve the qualities of the infrastructure nationally for some reasons. First, the national road will serve more people in the country. As the matter of fact, the geographical situation varies across the nation, some maybe have a plain contour, and others may be on the plateau, but whatever the condition, most of the people in that area can commute easily if the road exist. Due to the fact of that condition, it is a wise choice for always increasing the number of the roads as people can use it to transport to any part of the country with a different type of transport such as bicycle, bus, motorcycle, car, etc. Second, building a road is often more cost-efficient and effortless for the government. For example, in the mountain area, to connect different city that located between the different side of the mountain, it is cheaper and easier to build a road around the mountain, compared to make a tunnel through the mountain for the railroad. Lastly, some might say that using the trains is much faster to travel. While there is some evidence to support that in the past era, I think that stance fails to recognize the massive improvement of road infrastructure that led us to better time completion in travelling. For instance, in my country Indonesia, in the past, to travel from Jakarta to Surabaya, one of the best transport for completion time is either by plane or train. However, since the massive development of the highway road that connected across that two cities, the time completion is now very comparable between train and car. In conclusion, although train can provide a quite fast completion time when we transport using it, I prefer the government to build more roads as it can compete with train in terms of commuting time. Moreover, build road can serve more people with various type of transportation and often the cost of building road is more affordable.