Some people think imported food exerts positive impacts on our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

People in today's context are consuming foodstuff from all over the world, imported food has become very famous in most of the countries. Some people see several positive implications in this notion while others argue it has several disadvantages. In my opinion, bringing down food from other nations have more negativities which are capable of outweighing the positivities. This essay will further illustrate my viewpoint. To begin with, imported foodstuff has become a major concern to the local industry where the local producers would struggle to compete. For instance, the rice industry of Sri Lanka was a major breadwinner to a considerable number of farming families. However, after the open economic policy implementation, traders have brought down rice from India which had a price advantage over the local production. Subsequently, the local farming community was unable to retain in this price war and ultimately the local production was reduced from a considerable level. Secondly, importing foodstuff will have a negative impact with regards to the foreign currency outflow. For example, third world nations are often facing challenges to maintain a healthy import and export ratio. On the contrary, there are nations that have no other option than getting food from other countries because of geographical, environmental and other various factors. For instance, a country like Iceland should bring down food since local production is not possible due to the weather. In summary, importing food has several disadvantages than its advantages. On the other hand, all the countries of the world are not in a position to be fully self-sufficient due to certain limitations mentioned. Hence, government intervention is important to control these activities to ensure safeguarding both producers and consumers.