Watching television is bad for children. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television is ubiquitous these days; I have not come across single household where there is no TV. But is watching TV good for children? Well, I am a strong believer that anything done in moderation is good and same goes with children watching TV. Firstly, with the omnipresence of TV, it is impossible to keep children away from it. Moreover, TV provides an efficient source of learning for children if right channels are watched. We generally are able to grasp and remember more things when we see and hear rather than read it and here is where TV is really useful. These days we have different channels focusing only on children like cartoons or more educational channels like animal planet, discovery channel etc. All these channels help in educating children in an effective manner. It is often seen when the children are really young around 1-2 years, they react to TV; whenever a song is being played, they start dancing, and they often listen to songs and starts singing. This definitely suggests that TV helps children in their development and make them active. Admittedly, TV also has some negative impacts on children. Sometimes, they squander too much time in watching TV and watching wrong channels can also have a negative influence on them. Therefore it is of utmost importance that parents keep a close eye on their children. With the advent of technology, we now have televisions with child lock system in place, which could prevent children from watching irrelevant and adult channels. Parents should extol the importance of watching news channels to develop overall general knowledge of children. When I was growing up, my parents made sure that I watch the news for at least half an hour in a day. This really helped me in improving my General Knowledge and I gradually developed the interest in politics and also watching different debates and group discussions helped me improving Change the form of the verb improve show examples my speaking skill and as a result, I won several prizes in debates and quizzes at school and college level. In a nutshell, I think as every coin as two sides, so does television. Watching TV in moderation and under parents ’ guidance is good for children entertainment and learning but it is important that parents keep a check on the channels that their children watch and the amount of time being spent on watching TV.