Some people think that mobile phones are harmful for children, while others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With the techonological advancement, smart devices are becoming more available to everyone, especially children. Although, these gadgets bring great utility for human life, it is believed that they can be harmful for youngsters while others disagree with this statement. In my view point, it can be dangerous if we let our kids use these portable devices without any restrictions. I shall demonstrate my ideas in the following paragraph. Parents who support the use of mobile phone may argue that it can help them keep contact with their children while they are out of school. For example, many students tend to join extra activities after their class in various locations and telephones may be the perfect way to help families connect to them in emergency situations. Moreover, using these portable appliances may be a great alternative learning options compare to traditional books as youngsters can access education materials or attending lectures at anytime. For instance, during the Covid lockdown, many schools have switched to online lectures which has made tablets or smart devices become common among children for their learning. On the other hand, over exposure to smart gadgets may make users become addicted and cause detrimental effects on health. Kids may become dependent users if they play on these devices too often, which may lead to the reduction of physical activities and eye problems. Some parents today apply tablets or phones as a source of distraction to their children so they can have more spare time and focus on their works. This may be initially effective, however, in longer term, this trend can change social behaviour and make toddlers feel inactive or refuse to play with others. Additionally, popular applications such as Facebook, messenger or Instagram have become very popular, which can be compatible on mobile devices. As a result, students can easily access to these applications through their phones during class and neglect lectures at schools, which eventually reduce their concentration and learning outcomes. To avoid this, some universities have restricted the use of cellphones during study time. To sum up, technology has undoubtedly brought great benefits for human, however, unlimited use of these inventions may underline potential drawbacks to younger generations.