Many people get little or no exercise time either during the working day or in their free time and as a result have health issues. Why do so many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

As the ratio of working-class has increased ten folds in the last decade so have their health problems. The correlation is uncanny as members of many families choose to work or overwork themselves during the day to maintain a good lifestyle thus deteriorating their health as a consequence. The reason for this is as simple as not getting enough exercise as they don’t have enough leisure time on their hands to dedicate it to their personal needs. With thousands of people graduating from different universities each year, the competition to find and maintain a job has become a struggle for many people. The fact that many people end up with an almost identical qualification, has given employers an advantage over the employees to pay less or to find a quick substitute in case they are not happy with their current employment. The low payment, stress, and competition force the working class to exhaust themselves to a point where they don’t find enough time to invest in their health or personal grooming. On the other hand, we also have young and enthusiastic graduates who are entering the workforce and just want to make a mark in the industry, so they will work extra hours just to prove themselves. Some companies even offer to pay something extra if the employee gives more working hours, thus we see many people both young and, fighting for just that extra bonus or incentive by compromising their physical and mental health. This is also a reason why most of the working class will opt for an evening job or a temporary job every now and then. Consequently, we see that majority of the working class does not practice a healthy lifestyle like exercising or having a well-balanced diet as they don’t get enough time to themselves. Another reason could also be that it is quite costly to afford healthy food or get a gym subscription or a personal trainer. There are many plausible solutions to this seemingly simple problem and both of them involve the employer's concern and initiation. To encourage employees to live healthier lifestyle employers should hold workshops on mental and physical health. They can also partner with a gym and give discounts. Many employees will be urged to join when they will see their peers are joining as well. The companies can also have lunchrooms that offer healthier options and employees don't have to spend their money on junk food. Companies can also build small break rooms which can have sports equipment like table tennis, squash or basketball. Employees can use their free time doing these physical activities. More importantly, employers can discourage the working overtime culture and focus on the overall well-being of their employees as healthier and happier employees will be more productive in the long run. In conclusion, we know that low payment, growing competition and working overtime are few reasons due to which the employees end up ignoring their physical and mental health as they don't get enough time to dedicate it to themselves but with the consideration and intervention by the employers these issues can be taken care of.